Fever

23Nov08
  • Is a pathologic process which is characterized by increase of temperature regardless to environmental temperature change, caused by an action of pyogenic substances.
  • There is no disturbance in temperature regulation

 
 

Pyogenic Substance

  • Exogenous
    • Lipopolysaccharides & Gram Negative Bacteria
  • Endogenous
    • IL-1, IL-G, IL-8, IL-11
    • IFN-a, IFN-g
    • TNF
    • Morfological Inflammatory Protein (MIP)

       
       

       
       

Classification

  • According to temperature elevation
    • Sub febrile (~38 degrees Celsius)
    • Febrile / moderate ( >39 degrees Celsius)
    • Pyretic (39-41 degrees Celsius)
    • Excessively high / hyper pyretic (>41 degrees Celsius)

       
       

  • According to characteristic of time fever
    • Continuous fever
    • Remittent fever
    • Intermittent fever
    • Recurrent fever

 
 

Pathophysiology of Fever

 
 

  1. Infectious agents / toxins / mediators of inflammation (pyrogens)
  2. Stimulate the monocytes/macrophages/endothelial cells
  3. Releasing pyrogenic cytokines – IL-1, TNF, IL-6, IFNS
  4. Stimulate the anterior hypothalamus
  5. Resulting in elevated thermoregulatory set point
  6. Leads to
    1. Increase heat conservation (vasoconstriction)
    2. Increase heat production (involuntary muscle contraction)
  7. Ending in – FEVER


16 Responses to “Fever”

  1. Hi there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it
    much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more
    often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

  3. I haven’t checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist.
    You deserve it friend🙂

  4. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 4G .. Anyhow, amazing blog!

  5. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
    back often!

  6. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of
    your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got
    to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people
    could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1
    or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  7. Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended
    up losing months of hard work due to no back up. Do
    you have any methods to stop hackers?

  8. Thank you on your magnificent article! I genuinely enjoyed reading
    it, you are a great journalist. I will always bookmark the weblog and will come back
    someday. I need to inspire yourself to keep on your outstanding writing,
    have a wonderful evening!

  9. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your
    site when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  10. First off I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your
    mind prior to writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Thanks!

  11. Searching stumbleupon.com I noticed your blog bookmarked as:
    Fever | Medic\’s Life. I’m assuming you bookmarked it yourself and wanted to
    ask if social bookmarking gets you a ton of traffic? I’ve been considering doing some book-marking for a few of my websites but wasn’t sure if it would produce any positive results.

    Appreciate it.

  12. I am really loving the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A handful of my blog visitors have complained
    about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.

    Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

  13. Greetings. I am wondering if you’d be interested in doing a website link exchange? I see your website: https://medicstudent.wordpress.com/2008/11/23/fever/ and my website are based around the same subject matter. I’d really like to switch links or perhaps guest author
    a article for you. Here is my personal contact: charissaritchie@web.

    de. Make sure you contact me if you’re even slightly interested. Thanks.

  14. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  15. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    many months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect
    against hackers?

  16. Hey! I’m hoping it is possible to answer my question. I’m interested
    in a premium WP theme, but I don’t know how to know if the one I select will be compatible with cellular phones. What are some strategies you can give me as to what to look for when it comes to colors and background and factors like that? I normally look at websites via my iPhone 5, and I’m going to guess that many people are like me in that way.
    Oops, i went a bit off topic, sorry. Appreciated the document thou.


Leave a Reply

